Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help What a Mess

tag
missy42
Regular Contributor

Help What a Mess

So I hired a BK lawyer in Oct 2016.  I had recently resigned from my job due to health reasons and was told I would have to wait to file a Chap 7 but that I did qualify.  I'm in FL and I'm a disabled veteran with a monthly income of $4660.  In the meantime I had decided to give up the home in Chap 7 therefore in Jan 2017 I stopped making payments.  Fast forward to this week when my lawyers wife who acts as the paralegal and I never worked with called and said basically I do not quailfy for the Chap 7 and if I wasn't happy I could pick up my money for full refund.  I am so pissed because now I called my mortgage company on 22 August based on the other lawyer saying it should hold them off before we file and asked for a modification.  Now the situation is I have to do a 13 which I could have done months ago.

I have a 2013 SRX that I do not want to keep owe $32K more bought it used but at 7.99% interest rate in April 2016.  I have no idea what to do or how to get rid of the car and get another one before the Chap 13 plan is approved.  My credit is shot to hell with missed mortgage payments and everything else.

If I keep the current vehicle payments go from $583  to $485.  The vehicle have lots of maintenance issues that I can see in the future will cost lots of money and the console (digital) already freeze all the time.  I would like to get into a 2017 Honda Accord or Civic because the plan will be for 5 years and I will need reliable transportation.

I am current on the vehicle as I was following the plan of pay to wait as my lawyer stated.  Now I'm keeping the home and staying so it's just a cluster.

I have no idea how to go about giving a car back to the lender the last time I did anything like that was in 2007 and I just didn't reaffirm in Chap 7 and they picked it up 4 months after.