cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re-establishing credit after Chapter 7...what next?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re-establishing credit after Chapter 7...what next?

Hi everyone! I’ve been peeping at the various topics on this forum for a few years but finally decided to join. My motivation for joining is this: I filed for ch7 in February 2019 and got discharged in May 2019. I have a son who was born with severe medical issues which landed me $85k in medical debt (after paying $62k) in addition to mismanaging a credit Card using it to make ends meet. In any event, the BK dropped my scores from the low 500’s to the mid-low 400’s. I waited until discharge and was immediately sent an offer in the mail for a new Cap1 unsecured card w/a $300 limit literally 3 days post discharge (amazing since I included 2 cap 1 cards and an auto loan in my Bk). I accepted and have done well raising my scores from the mid-low 400’s to: TU 664, EQ 642, EX 599. But I don’t know what to do (or not to do) next. I applied for a few offers on credit karma but got denied - so I expect a slight drop next month due to inquiries. But I so desperately want to raise my TU and EQ to 700 and try to get EX to 650 by year end or early 2020. The only things in my credit are student loans with 100% on time payments and this $300 cap1 card. Any advice on next steps or what to avoid is much appreciated 😊
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Re-establishing credit after Chapter 7...what next?