Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of filing

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thinking of filing

Hi. I am thinking of filing chapter 7. I contacted a couple attorneys. I recently opened a personal loan to use to pay another loan. She said i should pay in it for at least three months and don’t worry about paying the others?? I was reading through here and that sounds like preferential treatment? Please advise! Thanks!!
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Scupra
Super Contributor

Re: Thinking of filing

It actually sounds like the attorney is trying to get away from you being considered for preferential payments. The fact that you just took a loan out to pay another loan, just to turn around and file BK, looks like preference to the creditor you paid off. I am NOT A LAWYER but I would listen, then not pay anything for another 90 and file just to be safe. Good luck
Filed BK7: 7/2012 (start score EQ 560 / TU 529) Discharge 10/2012
801 EQ FICO 06/2022
797 TU FICO 04/2022
793 EX FICO 04/2022
$30k NFCU Platinum | $30.7k NFCU cashRewards Sig | $15k NavChek | $7.1k Cap1 Quicksilver | $10k Amazon Store | $19k Cap1 VentureOne | $16k Barclay Aviator | $5k Chase Freedom | $5k Chase Sapphire Preferred | $9k Costco Visa | $20k AMEX BCE | AMEX Gold | NFCU Platinum #2 $19.3k | Apple $8.5k
Message 2 of 5
despritfreya
Frequent Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Hi. I am thinking of filing chapter 7. . . I recently opened a personal loan to use to pay another loan. (The attny) said i should pay in it for at least three months. . .?? I was reading through here and that sounds like preferential treatment? Please advise! Thanks!!