Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

filed chapter 7 today!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

filed chapter 7 today!

Hi all,

I just filed my chapter 7 today in New York's southern district, pro se. My meeting with the creditors was scheduled for 8/25. The whole process seems a lot less daunting than I initially thought it would be! 20 minutes from filing and waiting, I got my court case number, paperwork and date and time with the trustee.

My only regret is not filing earlier instead of paying late payment fees and interest fees!

My total credit card debt is about $40k, $60k total debt outstanding, the rest of which is educational loans. Not seeking to remove the educational ones, although I understand that if they are old enough, you can have them removed. 

If anyone is interested in filing pro se (self, no lawyers or third party helpers), please ask any questions that I can help answer! However, I am not a lawyer so please do your own research as well, but if I can help anyone from my experience, I will! Smiley Happy

Thanks!

Mike

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
mizzmonick19
Valued Member

Re: filed chapter 7 today!

Wow! You filed your bankruptcy yourself!

I know you are able to do it this way, but the whole process seems very intimidating to me.

I'm just getting a grasp on the different types of bankruptcies...

So how much did you save filng yourself?

I spoke to 2 laywers (in the state of MD) and they both gave me a price range in $1300's with the $299 court filing fee not included (Chapter 7).

I know I can save some money...but Iike I said I'm intimidated...I don't want to mess things up!

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

I found NY's southern district website a great first reference: http://www.nysb.uscourts.gov/

They actually got an award about having one of the top 10 sites for bk! I went to the court today and it was one of the plaques they had on the wall there..