cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

604 Credit Score - What Are The Options?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

604 Credit Score - What Are The Options?

Hi.  I'm a newbie.

I have a 604 credit score.  I've only had one credit card with a 800 limit years ago.  Had a lot of baggage on the credit report, wound up homeless, everything from student loans to utilities went into collections in the ten years I was on the street/transient.  Now I have a gig - have made 40K the last two years on my gig economy job.  Most of the baggage dropped off the credit report, raising my score from the upper 400s to now. 

Not planning on repaying stuff that dropped off since many were sent to collections and they want a lot of money, so the question is, how do I re-establish some decent credit.  I just got me a car, first one in 15 years.  It's paid for.  I have Progressive Insurance and pay them monthly, no lates.  Got a phone but it's pre-paid via Tmobile/Metro but they did approve me for credit after a hard pull and that was after they were one of my baggage discharges (I owed them 500, tried to pay it when I could but they had already deleted it out their system and wouldn't let me).

I'm open for suggestions.  Thanks community.

Important Notes:

Don't have a bank account.

Fingerhut denied me credit.

DiscoverIT and a few of the major secured cards denied me.

Qualified for an auto loan but didn't take it because I could pay cash for my car.

Progressive is my insurance; got liability on it.

Have no utility bills (my place is all included).

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Pikaboo-icu
Valued Contributor

Re: 604 Credit Score - What Are The Options?

Welcome to My Fico!!   welcomewave (1).gif

Serious congrats on your progress! GOOD for YOU!

That's a great come back.

I would say since you have Internet access, start with pulling your credit reports & scores to see exactly where you stand.

Free CR Here: https://www.annualcreditreport.com/index.action