cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AmEx Cash Magnet - DENIED ; I need advice moving forward!! Spare me 2 minutes of your time!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AmEx Cash Magnet - DENIED ; I need advice moving forward!! Spare me 2 minutes of your time!

Long time reader, first time poster! 

I'm fairly new to credit, but i'm a bit late in the game compared to others my age. I'm looking to get in the American Express family with the Cash Magnet card, but i'm not sure if I have the scores to meet the 'requirements'. After reviewing my information below, if you were in my shoes, what next steps would you take?

FICO® SCORE8 data

Experian: 737

Equifax: 719

TransUnion: 721

Average Account Age:

Experian: 7mos

Equifax: 7mos

TransUnion: 11mos

Oldest Account Age:

Experian: 10mos

Equifax: 10mos

TransUnion: 1yr 9mos

Hard Inquiries:

Experian: 3 (drop off; 2020)

Equifax: 3 (drop off; 2020)

TransUnion: 4 (drop off 2020)

Open Lines:

Capital One Secured ($500) 10mos

Discover Secured ($200) 4mos

Self Lender ($500) 11mos

Rhental Karma (only reports to TU) 

UPDATE ~~~~~~~~~ 06/27/2019

After taking the advice from folks on here, hearing that American Express is thin file friendly, and receiving a pre-approval from the website, I decided to pull the trigger. They pulled Experian, and my score at the time was 737. My annual income in $46k. I'm not really sure where to go from here. I was thinking about opening 3-4 secured credit cards, as they'll eventually graduate, but I don't want new inquiries for $200/limit accounts if i'm able to get a regular card. A question I have is, do credit card companies use Chexsystems when factoring credit card applications? If I have a Chexsystems debt with (lets use SunTrust for an example) - would they deny me a credit card? 

Open Accounts:

Rental Kharma (TU only): Open 7/2017 - Current - Never Late

Capital One Secured ($500): Open 6/2018 - Current - Never Late - Under 10% Utlz