Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CFU - Apply now or later?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

CFU - Apply now or later?

Hello,

I'm a college student relatively new to CC's looking for some advice.

Current cards:

Discover it Student Cash Back (December 2019, $1.5K Limit)

Capital One Secured Platinum (June 2019, $700 Limit)

1FBUSA Visa (August 2019, $1000 Limit, increased from $250 a few days ago)

FICO8 - 724 - 2 HP (From Discover app, so TU, I believe)

I've had a Chase checking account since early last year and recently checked and saw that on the Chase App, it says that I am prequalified for a number of cards (CFU, CF, CSP, Slate) and I also got an email for the same CFU offer I see in the app (I have never gotten any in the past). I would really like to strengthen my relationship with Chase, so I am considering applying for a CFU. I know that Chase prefers that you have 1+ years of history, but I'm thinking that the prequalification and checking account will strongly (Maybe? Not sure) help. (Also, I noticed that I can only see the prequalifications in my app, but when I check online, or enter my details into the Chase prequal website it doesn't show any for some reason) Regardless, I will obviously wait if its better for me to do so, but I'm pretty unsure.

Even if we assume that I will get accepted, I'm not sure if applying for a new card is the right move for me at the moment and don't really know what steps to take. I figured that the CFU might be good for me as I frequently find myself spending outside of the Discover's 5% categories and got the $200 SUB for the CFU.

TLDR: Chances for the CFU and is it the right move for me to apply?

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
NimbusIII
Frequent Contributor

Re: CFU - Apply now or later?

I would wait if it doesnt show up with any offers from the prequalification app. I would wait until August when the two cards are a year old and you should be ok.