cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! I just applied for a store card about 15 minutes ago, and now have regrets!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help! I just applied for a store card about 15 minutes ago, and now have regrets!

This is my first time posting on this board....any board.   I get so much information from reading, but couldn't find anything about this.

I just applied for a store account, but changed my mind right after the submit button when I realized it was for a credit card and not a payment plan, my credit limit was $3500.  I saw that I could get 12 months of 0% financing but realized that the balance would go against my Util% like a regular credit card.  Total my ignorance.  

We added my husband on my large balance credit cards to get him good history to purchase a home in his name only.  We go to closing on June 4 and I wanted to purchase a few pieces.  Should I cancel the store Card now?  Is it going to hurt my credit card age and scores.  I am recovering from a pre-foreclosure short sale from April 2016 and finally out of credit card debt and slowly asking and being approved for credit increases.  I've been working hard to not spend more than my cash on hand to rack up rewards and paying it off the next month to raise my credit.  Now I feel like I made this terrible mistake.  Will the 30 minutes of an opened card and closed card decrease my avg length of credit account opened dramatically?

676 EQ

690 Tran

691 Exp

Payment History -last late payment 18mos ago for school loan

Most recent opened card 2y 10m

Avg Length 10years

Oldest 19 years

Utilization CC balance $368  2% of 23,330 (Home Depot, 8700: Kohls, 3000: Discover, 8000: CapOne, 1250: Credit One, 950: Barclay, 1430)

about to be 0% when I get paid

Should I keep it open not use it, use it and pay it off next month, or cancel it?

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable