Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please :) Twentysomething, building cred. from Absolute Zero

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help please :) Twentysomething, building cred. from Absolute Zero

Hello!  I'm new here (first post).  Twentysomething, small-business owner.  I have been scouring the internet for info, but I need some help on questions I can't seem to find good info for based on my situation.  I'll go straight to it:

Objective:  

Build credit for responsible future use (for travel, rewards benefits, and possibly business growth or car/home loans in the future)

My situation:

-Absolute zero.  I have nobody with good credit who can help me and no credit history (until recently - will elaborate in a min.)  

-No negatieves at all (no medical bills, overdue utilities, nothing)

-I'm a Sole Proprietor business owner (growing & succesful etsy shop).  I worked and have an employer W2 from 2014, but after that, I started a business and do not yet have a tax return for it.  So my income is not verifiable and I'm not currently "employed" (rather, "self-employed")

-No property or car loans or ownership/assets - I live with family who need help, and live small/make my own way

-No education loans

-Income around current U.S. minimum wage at the moment, as I do my business part time.

So, I realized I needed to do something to build credit.  I applied (and got approved) for a Captial One secured platinum credit card.  (They wanted a $49 deposit for a $200 line of credit).  

I now have 4 months of perfect credit history using that card.  I know the breakdown of what % your credit is based on - history lenght, debt utilzation, on-time payments, etc.  I get all of that and have read like crazy on every aspect of building and maintaining good credit, and am happy and on board to apply it all.  But I have a couple questions I'd love to see help on and can't find much because my situation is kinda unique (ergo asking here).