Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting Capital One Reconsideration Situation

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting Capital One Reconsideration Situation

Hey everyone,

I have an interesting situation for reconsideration on a C1 Quicksilver card application, and I don't know who to contact in order to leverage my position.

First, I'm a graduating college student with a 721 credit score (was 763), have a $4,800 CL on a Discover It card (almost 2 years old) and have been an autherized user on my father's AmEx (5 years old). My income is just from summer internships, but its going to jump 10x when I begin full-time in August. The situation is interesting because I will be working for C1 as a software engineer, and part of my reason for applying was to be able to login to the various applications and get familiar with the products I'm supporting.

The stated reason for not being approved was "...proportion of revolving account balance(s) to income is too high". I kind of expected this... because after the immediate denial online, I checked Credit Karma more thoroughly and realized my father had $6000 charged to his AmEx which I'm an autherized user on. That is over 50% of what I stated I make per year in internships. Obviously, I wish I saw this earlier.

I called the customer service line and got the typical pitch about reprocessing the application and the potential of additional inquiries. I feel like I have a decent case for reconsideration, but I would like to skip anymore inquires. The last inquiry dropped my score 40 points. Does anyone have suggestions on which numbers to call on this list? The letter I received says to write to an address in Utah, has anyone had success with that? If nobody has had success avoiding the inquires, I'll probably cut my loses and prep for a different application this fall.

Thanks for the help!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Interesting Capital One Reconsideration Situation