Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to Apply for New Credit Card for Mortgage Score Increase

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need to Apply for New Credit Card for Mortgage Score Increase

Hi all,

I'm a newbie.  At the age of 45, I have always been against getting a credit card and have never had one.  However I'm learning this can in the long run hurt you rather than help you.  I am in the process of purchasing a new build home and all looks good and have no hits against my credit score but it's low because I have no revolving credit.  I took out a secured credit card for $1,000 just so I can show a credit card on my credit report, but it's only a month old.  My home will not be completed for another 6 months, so my lender is telling me that I need to take out another credit card to bump my credit score up.  Credit cards are so foreign to me and I don't even know where to start or to determine what type of card I should get.  Any help, assistance would be appreciated.

EQ - 669

TU - 676

EX - 673

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
BmoreBull
Established Contributor

Re: Need to Apply for New Credit Card for Mortgage Score Increase

I think it's kind of odd that they would have you applying for a card so close before a mortgage loan, but what do I know?  Who is your secured card with? Have you tried any of the prequalifications? What do you spend on most and what would you be looking for? Cash back? Rewards towards travel? There's no need to get a card to just have it and not get any benefits from it. So think about your spend and what fits your spending habits the best. 

Starting Fico Scores:November 2019

Current Fico Scores: January 6, 2021
Goal Scores: 700 across all three
Message 2 of 14
M_Smart007
Legendary Contributor

"Need to Apply for New Credit Card for Mortgage Score Increase"

Edited, So others could better Advise OP.

Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable