Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Card to Apply?

tag
ZxMarsxZ
Established Member

What Card to Apply?

Hello all!!

I'm new to the game and also new here. I'm planning to travel abroad for a couple months in Feb 2020, so I'm trying to earn as much points and miles as possible from now until then. However, due to the fact that I did not pay much attention to establishing a thick credit history when I was younger, I'm now in a bit of a situation. I recently applied for the Citi and Barclay AAdvantage, both of which were turned down. My Chase Freedom app is in 30-day pending due to address verification since I just moved. I expect this app to go through tho. I don't know what to go from here to maximize the number of points for my travels next year. I would really appreciate some recommendations from you guys. Some stats about my current history:
Score ~750, 3 inquries with 1 in last 6 months from all 3 bureaus.
BoA CC 2013, 3k
Chase Freedom AU 2014, 5k
Chase SW Priority 2016 AU, 6.5k
BoA CC 2013 AU, 8k
Auto loan 2018, 15k/21k
Student loan 2018 paid off last month in one payment.

My oldest is over 5 years and just one under my own name, so it's not like a typical thin file. Yet it is still thin. Thank you for your advice.
EX 810, TU 792, EQ 768
EX 11, TU 6, EQ 7

BoA Cash Rewards 12/13
Chase Freedom 05/19
Barclays AA biz 05/19
Chase Ink Preferred 06/19
Citi AA biz 08/19
Auto loan 06/18
Student loan 08/18 (paid off)
3 AU cards 5-year average
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor

Re: What Card to Apply?

Have you checked Capital One’s prequal site? The Venture has a good SUB and is a favored travel card.
Discover It: 21.5k
Amex Cash Magnet: 18k
Fidelity Visa: 16.5k
Apple Card: 4.25k
Message 2 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

@ZxMarsxZ wrote:

Score ~750, 3 inquries with 1 in last 6 months from all 3 bureaus.
BoA CC 2013, 3k - SP CLI since 5/2018, if you haven't asked for one it's a good idea to go ahead now
Chase Freedom AU 2014, 5k