Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to apply for for better CLI and Rewards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What to apply for for better CLI and Rewards

Hello, long time listener first time caller!

Cheesy intros aside, I've been working on my credit for a few years now though the game is hard to play and it seems at the whimsy of some otherworldly being whether it goes up or down. Currently I believe according to Scorecard 8 I sit at 600-620. I was at my highest when buying my new car and at my lowest when I paid the last one off. I've yet to see what paying my student loan off has done.

All that aside, the only credit card I have had for 2 years is my Capital One Quicksilver Mastercard. It recently went through a product change after a talk to the EO but I think my request for a 10k CLI was turned down as I've not seen any adjustments or letters for a week and a half on the matter. So out of a last resort I took the Luv Button's offer of 6500 from 4500. However I was really hoping for a much better CLI so that I can keep the utilizations low without having to offload expenses almost as quick as I get them.

So comes the question. I'm looking for another card that gives fair rewards and is more flexible or giving in the realm of CLIs but not sure what to shoot for or if I should. The most prospective one was Citi's Double Cash rewards card, especially after seeing this person's success. Though after reading a bit I finally found he had a score of 730 at the time. So what does everyone recommend for what I'm looking for? Am I shooting too high or pipe dreaming or is it very much possible? Other than soft pulls from Cap One, the only hard pulls I had was the shotgunned loan requests from the dealership in early January. I was on one hard pull before that from the initial Capital One application.

Hope to hear back soon. Thanks.