Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AAdvantage Platinum Select - Approved without SSN

tag
Deuter
Regular Contributor

AAdvantage Platinum Select - Approved without SSN

Hi so this happened to me....

I applied for the Citi AAdvantage Platinum Select card as i've been receiving offers since 1 or 2 years. This would be my first Credit Card ever in the US. I don't have an SSN or ITIN. No prior credit history. I applied for it and was approved!!! I never expected this! 

SL of 10K 

I never had any credit card before. I have been an AA frequent flyer since 2008 though and have been elite status to them for 8 years straight, but i am a tourist!

So.. my nexts steps would be aiming for the Amex Plat or Sapphire Reserve, even the other Exec AA card. When i can expect to do this???

I was approved and because already the 6 months passed, i am now reporting a Fico score of 713, that would my first Fico on file from Nada.

Thank you very much!!! I don't know how strange or usual or doable is this. But i do know that i'll like to have 20-30K limits in one card, and build a portafolio with one Amex and the Chase Sapphire Reserve (maybe dreams without SSN).

New in the forums!! 

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
19eighty5
Senior Contributor

Re: AAdvantage Platinum Select - Approved without SSN

Congratulations!

FICO 8 (Feb 2018):EX- 519, TU- 530, EQ- 545
FICO 8 (Sept 2022):EX- 706, TU- 685, EQ- 684
What's in my wallet:

Message 2 of 24
imaximous
Valued Contributor

Congrats!
I’m curious to know what you entered in the section that asks for a SSN. Banks have to search for your file to extend credit and you said you don’t even have a tax ID number.
Message 3 of 24
Deuter
Regular Contributor