Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX CLI

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX CLI

When I began my credit card journey in 2016, my strategy was to open cc's where I had brokerage/savings accounts. This lead me to geting a Schwab AMEX in Nov. My SL was $5000 and 91 days later I tried 3Xing it and got it doubled to $10,000 making it my highest CL.

My income is $29,000 and I really don't spend that much but I just wondered if I could get a CLI (since I haven't tried in awhile). Right now my AMEX is basically getting my monthly Net10 bill of around $18 and whatever token spend I can throw it's way (I'm in my first year of my Discover It, so it's getting most of my charges). My free FICO scores are EXP (735) and TU (730). I have no derogs. 3 inquires in the last year (EXP) and 2 inquiries on my TU. I PIF before the statement cut on ALL of my cards showing zero utilization across the board.

I didn't want to try anything too ridiculous because of my low spend, so I just asked for double my CL ($20,000) and I figured I would get a lowball counter. Well, the counter turned out to almost be the requested amount. The system offered me $19,300.00 which I accepted. This is my HIGHEST CL  and so close to my income I sort of feel like I'm imagining things (hopefully, they don't reconsider and give me a CLD).

I know CC companies don't necessarily look at what their competitors are doing but I recently got a NFCU cashRewards (card has yet to show up on my credit report) and was hoping for a big CLI in  the future (my SL is $500); maybe my AMEX can have some positive effect.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
schsa210
Established Contributor

Re: AMEX CLI

Congrats!

~buried myself in the garden~
Message 2 of 13
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

Awesome increaseSmiley Happy
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Congrats on the very nice increase.
Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable