Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for Citi Secured Diamond

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Approved for Citi Secured Diamond

Hello everyone,

This is my first time ever posting to a forum so please bear with me if I seem uneducated. I’m in the process of rebuilding my credit and I just received my Citi card after the LONG application process. I’ve only had two credit cards before (Cap One and my local credit union) so I’m not sure exactly how I should handle this card. My plan is to keep my utilization at 10% or less and PIF each month but I’ve read other posts on various forums saying I shouldn’t PIF or a statement won’t be generated. Can someone shed some insight on this for me?

FICO via Experian: 554
5 REPLIES 5
credit_is_crack
Valued Contributor

Re: Approved for Citi Secured Diamond

First off — Welcome to the forum! You’re are going to learn sooooo much by coming here.

Secondly - Congrats on the new card Smiley Happy Citi, even their secured division, can be very picky. It’s a good bank, sometimes a stingy bank lol, but still a good bank.

As far as your question, what you’ve described is real, but varies by bank. My Fifth-Third Card does not update on my reports when no balance reported in that particular month, however I see regular monthly updates from Citi on all 3 of my cards, and I’ve never carried a balance on all theee at the same time. I think you’re safe with Citi. Again, YMMV

I’m sure there are a few guru’s here who will set us straight. Congrats again!
Message 2 of 6
theBeardedNerd
Regular Contributor

Congrats on your approval.

Currently in My Wallet:

Auto Loan:

Personal Line of Credit:

Future Credit Cards:

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable