cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Secured -> CSP] This credit card newbie got approved for Chase Sapphire Preferred!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

[Secured -> CSP] This credit card newbie got approved for Chase Sapphire Preferred!

Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to this credit card stuff so bear with me if I don't sound as sophisticated as yall do haha

I held just one secured card for a long time (2.5 yrs) with CL at $300. I was still able to bump my score up to EX 765 and TU 750. I was pretty excited that my patience paid off and decided to start applying for premiun cards with dope rewards. After researching for weeks, I came up with a gameplan to first apply for Costco Citi, wait a few months, then apply for CSP. I must say I was not as patient as I was for the past 2.5 years. 

Long story short, I got approved for Costco Citi with CL $6k back in February. My score went down to EX 751 & TU 742. I was still in a good place and felt pretty confident that I'd probably be able to get CSP relatively easily in 3 months.

NOPE. I got super impatient and wanted to make the most of my travel expenses and take advantage of no foreign transaction fees so I applied  for CSP yesterday. Dinged my score down to EX 741 & TU 720 (ouch). I was NOT approved instantly. I called the customer support to check on the status and the robolady said I'll get an answer in 30 days. I was pretty anxious but decided to wait one more day to get connected with an actual person. So this afternoon, I decided to call the robolady again before just to see if the messaging has changed and found out that I was APPROVED for CL $6.7k.

I just wanted to share this to encourage any secured card holders envying others with premium cards. Be patient. It will pay off!! I know there are other mid-level credit cards people get between secured card and premium but I was able to skip all of those! It might not be the best strategy but I'm finally part of the CSP family.