Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

$31,000 Income w/ 770 Credit Score

tag
BC1989
Established Member

$31,000 Income w/ 770 Credit Score

I'm still new to the credit world and I was wondering what credit card(s) should I apply for and get approved? And ideal credit limits would be nice.

27yrs old
Clean Credit Report
770+ Credit Score
$31,000 Annual Income (monthly exp: $1,000)
2 years at current job
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Re: $31,000 Income w/ 770 Credit Score

Do you have any cards currently? If not, what's in your history that would have caused you to generate a score, e.g. auto loan, student loans, or whatever?

Message 2 of 17
BC1989
Established Member

Navy Federal rewards $2000 limit. And just paying things on time really (nothing special)
Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

What is the age of your oldest account?  Is the one account you mentioned the only on your report?  If so your AoOA is also equal to your AAoA.  These factors can be more important than your income and how long you've been at your current job really isn't relevant.  Also, what is the utilization on your current $2000 card?  Since that's your only card, your card utilization IS your aggregate utilization, a factor that makes up 30% of your score.  You want this number to be between 1% and 8%, meaning you want a balance of say $5 up to $160 to be reported on that card before applying for additional cards to give yourself the best approval terms.

When it comes down to cards, it really depends on what (categories, travel, etc.) you plan to use them on.

Message 4 of 17
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Definitely follow BBS's advice on utilization. If it's a little high right now, get your Navy card to report a lower balance and apply next month. And as BBS says, the age of your Navy card is important. Some lenders, notably Chase and Citi like to see some age and probably thicker files.