Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Payments

tag
shane82388
Established Contributor

AMEX Payments

So im new to AMEX and have only made one payment. I have a balance of a few hundred bucks this month already and my statment doesnt cut until the 28th so I was going to pay it down a bit before then to keep my balance lower. I found that you cant make a payment until your statment cuts...

Should I avoid making a payment til it cuts through my banks bill pay or is that going to be considered a positive thing? I dont want to throw up any red flags unintentionally....I just want to baby this card as much as I possibly can to build a relationship up.

Whats the best course of action?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
nuggets321
Frequent Contributor

Re: AMEX Payments

Very good question, I actually JUST received my card and would like to know as well..... maybe one of the moderators or super contributors could help ?

TU-721 (MortgagePull) EQ- 697(MortgagePull ) EXP 693(MortgagePull) FWEB 24,2015
My Wallet : Dicover More 35,500 CL -Amex Zync NPSL -WellsFargoRewards4800 - -CapOne 3000CL -GEMBWalMart 5000CL - Zales 4000CL-Kays 2900--Macys 5000CL /SSFCU 5000CL / CitiBank Diamond Pref 15000CL - CHASE Freedom 13500CL -Lowes 10,000 CL - BBuyStoreCard 10,000CL Sears Store Card (Citi) 3000 - Firestone CFNB 1400 Toyota Financial $35,000 Auto -2200DiscountTire(GECRB) Citi TY Preferred 8100CL - Chase Slate$4000-BofA15000-ToyotaRewardsVisa$10,700 -BofA$8500 AMEX BCE 9,500
Message 2 of 10
samint
Established Member

Actually shane, You CAN make a payment for today, but you wont be able to SCHEDULE a payment till after the statement closes on the 28th. you'll then have the ability to schedule a payment after your closing date and BEFORE your DUE date. if im not mistaken, youre allowed to schedule payments btw 29th and 12th. its usually 2 weeks for me between closing date and due date.