Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Prepaid to Convert Charge Card

tag
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: AMEX Prepaid to Convert Charge Card

@rootpooty wrote:
Please note im still new to plastic and what not being for the past 12 years since I turned 18 lived on cash only purchases. How is it bad to use your debit card for purchases?

You need to gain positive history with credit cards and show usage in order for your credit to imporve.

EQ FICO 548 3/3/16
Message 31 of 38
CS800
Super Contributor

@LS2982 wrote:

@rootpooty wrote:
Please note im still new to plastic and what not being for the past 12 years since I turned 18 lived on cash only purchases. How is it bad to use your debit card for purchases?

You need to gain positive history with credit cards and show usage in order for your credit to imporve.

+ 1.. +ve  history...history..history

Message 32 of 38
Odiseous
Frequent Contributor

@LS2982 wrote:

@rootpooty wrote:

+1

You can buy your way into a car loan, with a large enough down payment (and outrageous APR).

But, when it comes to getting a mortgage, you *have* to have credit history.

TU98 751, EQ 766, EX 766 (Lender)

If at first you don't succeed; Garden for 6 months, then try again.

Work the system. Don't let the system work you.
Message 33 of 38
LS2982
Mega Contributor

@Odiseous wrote:

@LS2982 wrote:

@rootpooty wrote:

+1

You can buy your way into a car loan, with a large enough down payment (and outrageous APR).

Smiley Wink

EQ FICO 548 3/3/16
Message 34 of 38
SoulMaster
Established Contributor

+1

That's actually not true... if you have 3-20% down (depending on your program), you can finance a house @ normal rates w/ a ZERO credit score / history.  I, unfortunatley have a BK on my report, which is decidedly NOT a zero, so I have to rebuild to get a home loan.  Else, I wouldn't use credit. Ever. (See "Total Money Makeover")