Did you mean: 

AMEX ZYNC APPLICATION. WHEN ?

tag
pat0812
Regular Contributor

AMEX ZYNC APPLICATION. WHEN ?

Hello,

I'm a new resident in the US.

I started to build my credit 4 months ago.

In May I opened a secured credit card with wells fargo with a $300 limit, and since then i only make small purchases (under 9% of my limit) , and i pay in full every month

Recently i took the decision to try and apply for unsecured cards. I applied on the same day for capital one platinum and walmart and i was approved instantly for both ($500 capital one and $400 walmart). With those two cards i plan to do the same and just swipe a small amount every month and pay it in full.

And 2 days ago i opened a contract with AT&T and i was instantly approved with no deposit. I was surprised, because everybody tells me they are hard with people with no credit history.

Anyway my next card i was thinking about is AMEX ZYNC.

When should i apply the earliest? I want to apply for it around December (By then i should have had 7 months of perfect history). I want to still be a member from 2012. What are my chances ? will it be more likely with a hard limit or NPSL ?

Any other suggestions what i should do to improve my credit ?

FICO 8's EX 770 EQ 751 TU 771 (1/16/17)
Amex Gold Premier rewards ( Charge Card)
Amex Blue cash - $47,800 Wells Fargo - $15,000 Citibank Simplicity - $13,800 Barclays Apple - $13,000 Walmart Mastercard - $8000 Chase Slate - $7,200 Discover It - $5,500 Capital One - $5,250
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: AMEX ZYNC APPLICATION. WHEN ?

You can take a shot as soon as your sixth reported payment hits the bureaus; however, I'd wait till November.  Like you I wanted to get my Membership date set in 2012, so I was targetting October and then December if I had been denied.   The additional inquiry is trivial in the long run, whereas the extra year backdating is meaningful for probably the next 4ish years in my case.