Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building Credit!

tag
Lamboguy35
New Visitor

Building Credit!

Hello everyone! I recently turned 18 and want to build my credit. I'm a full time student at a community college and have a part time job. I foolishly applied for a Discover It student card and was denied for having no credit history. Does anyone have any reccomendtions to build my credit?

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
vish1
Valued Contributor

Re: Building Credit!

@Lamboguy35 wrote:

Hello everyone! I recently turned 18 and want to build my credit. I'm a full time student at a community college and have a part time job. I foolishly applied for a Discover It student card and was denied for having no credit history. Does anyone have any reccomendtions to build my credit?

I will look at some other student card say cap 1 etc. If that pans out perfect else get a secured card. 3 months down the line get a GECRB card like JC Penney. From there wait for an year and you will be in prime land.

Citi Hilton Reserve 22.3K | Citi Thank You 8.2K | CSP 15.5K | Chase Freedom 10K | Chase BA 15K | Chase United 8.5K | Chase Marriott 5K | Discover IT 9K | Club Carlson 13K | Amex SPG 20K | BofA Cash Rewards 11K | BofA Cash Rewards 50K
Message 2 of 12
Hubcapjw
Contributor

Check out capital 1. They have a pre approval process on their site which is not a hard pull and if u don't qualify for an unsecured card their secured is an option and is very low in fees. I've had no problems w them so far. Their phone app is good and u can pay the bill thru the app daily, weekly, or monthly. Use the card wisely meaning don't run up $200 in charges when ur limit is $200.
Message 3 of 12
Laugh
Frequent Contributor

You should recon for the Discover it.

I can't understand the reasoning behind the so called "student" cards if students are the ones getting denied due to a limited credit history.