Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Building Credit

Hi, I'm new here, so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place!

I'm new to credit and building it and wanted to see if the board had any tips/ advice on what I'm doing/ did.

Thanks in advance!

I'm 18 + turning 19 in December.

On my 18th birthday, I applied and was approved for the student Discover It ($500) and a secured card with my credit union ($500)

After dealing with my CU's horrible fraud department in July, I applied and was approved for a Citi ThankYou Preferred for Students ($1500)

A few months ago, my CL on the Discover card went up to $750.

A week and a half ago I applied and was approved for an AmEx Everyday Card ($3700)

I should probably hold off for a while, my original goal was an American Express card/ Chase Freedom card.

My Fico score (according to my last Discover statement) is 712 and my Experian score from the AmEx application was 725.

Am I on the right path for higher scores/ limits in the future? I don't carry a balance.

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: Building Credit

Looks and sounds like you are doing perfect and if you want Chase check the pre-qual on chase.com and when you see an offer for Freedom or CSP you should be good to go to round out your portfolio for a while!

Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Terrific Job. I wish I had that discipline and knowledge when I was 18. Kudos to you.

Message 3 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the quick replies. Chase is saying I don't prequalify for anything (but neither did American Express)

I'm hoping that my score won't lower too much from the recent inquiries.

Acquiring 4 credit cards in 9 months probably looks extremely shady and I'll probably hold off for a while from apping for the Freedom.