Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CC -vs- score question...

tag
tbone74
Regular Contributor

CC -vs- score question...

Okay...I'm currently 7 points shy of qualifying for my first mortgage!  It's been a hard fought battle, but we're almost there.  Anyway, I have 1 CC w/ my local CU that has a $1000 CL, $0 balance. 

What option, if any, would have a positive effect on my score:

1.  Getting a CLI for the CC I currently have?

or

2.  Applying for...and hopefully getting approved for another card...such as Juniper?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks in advance! 

TU: 633 (TU98) 603 (TU04)  EQ: 613  EXP: 658

Message Edited by tbone74 on 03-03-2010 01:16 PM

Starting Score: TU04: 603 EQ: 613
Current Score: TU04: 667/EQ: 670/ EXP(LO Pull): 676
Goal Score: 710

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: CC -vs- score question...

I am by no means an expert - however, having recently gotten my mortgage (2nd house), I would NOT consider applying for a new card.  The inquiry is going to lower your score, not raise it.  Your best option of the two is to seek a CLI from your existing card - even better if they don't do a hard pull.  Good luck!
Message 2 of 9
tbone74
Regular Contributor

Thank you for the info....and, I do believe I can get an CLI w/ a soft pull!  Smiley Happy  We'll see.....fingers crossed!

Message 3 of 9
marty56
Super Contributor

With 0% CC util, CLI wont do anything for you and may infact hurt your score if they do an INQ or close your account.
1/25/2021: FICO 850 EQ 848 TU 847 EX
Message 4 of 9
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

tbone74 wrote:

Okay...I'm currently 7 points shy of qualifying for my first mortgage!  It's been a hard fought battle, but we're almost there.  Anyway, I have 1 CC w/ my local CU that has a $1000 CL, $0 balance. 

What option, if any, would have a positive effect on my score:

1.  Getting a CLI for the CC I currently have?

or