Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citibank verification process

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Citibank verification process

Hello FICO friends!

Tried to log into my Citi mobile banking app and was immediately hit with a notice to call Citi due to fraud on the account. This is for my double cash card. This happened last year as well when I received my Gold AA card. (The fraud is Uber... apparently using Uber frequently flags in their system. I live in Chicago and don’t own a car anymore, so Uber it is when I don’t feel like public transit!) Anyways, so I am connected with an over-seas call center, and they can’t verify my cell phone. They then ask for the credit card number of a card from a different bank, but in my name. They want the full number and expiration. Uhm... is that normal? Everywhere else asks for my address, DOB, and SS number.

I’m new to the world of responsible credit use, but I know for a fact capital one, US Bank, and my local credit union have never used that as a means to verify my identity. So maybe I’m just too new, but if you have had this happen before I’m curious to hear that I’m not alone haha.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
MrDisco99
Valued Contributor

Re: Citibank verification process

I don't see how Citi would know that information, nor why they would ask you for it.  Sounds fishy.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Make sure you are calling Citi's number and if so try again and see if they ask for the same info. You can also try their online chat.

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymouswrote:
Hello FICO friends!