Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Comenity Bank- CLI

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Comenity Bank- CLI

Hey!
I have a question. I am new to the world of credit. I currently have a Victoria Secret Credit Card with a credit line in the amount of $150. I always use my card and pay it off I’m full a couple times a month. I have requested an increase however I have been denied. I accidentally purchased something using the wrong cc account the other day however, Comenity covered the charge. Suddenly, my account balance is $247 , however my credit limit still says $150. Does that mean that this is my new credit limit?
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
gabeerwin
Contributor

Re: Comenity Bank- CLI

I have seen numerous threads on this site talking about spending more than the cards limit and comenity upping the limit and honoring the purchase.  Clearly this is a YMMV situation but I would very vervous having a card that is showing over the limit.

Message 2 of 12
CivalV
Established Contributor

That is odd. I previously had a VS card with a 350 limit. In March I paid it in full and then forgot to use it, so they closed the account. I reapplied and was approved for $150.00. I pay it off in full and I also use credit karma.. credit karma reported that a positive payment hit TU & that my credit limit for that account “VS” is $200.00.. I am going to call and check what the CL is for my account. I find it odd that CK would report that I have a $200.00 CL when it is actually $150.00
Message 3 of 12
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor

If you really want to know, contact Comenity. Credit card agreements often state something like "we may honor transactions over your credit limit." That doesn't necessarily mean they're giving you a higher limit, just allowing a higher purchase this one time. Pay it down fast is my only advice. 

Discover It: 21.5k
Amex Cash Magnet: 18k
Fidelity Visa: 16.5k
Apple Card: 4.25k
Message 4 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
Hey!