cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Post!!

tag
RedBeardedOne

First Post!!

Hail! I'm new to myFICO and have been learning a lot just from the past hour of browsing the forums.

So I just recently got pre-approved for a Cap1 platinum (my first CC, $300 CL ) after having been denied for the GE/Amazon card. (insufficent credit history) Smiley Sad

Now I'm kinda wishing I had gone with another CC after reading about how stingy Cap1 is with their limits. I'm not sure what my FICO score is yet as I need to call customer care to confirm my idenitity so I can sign up for myFICO.

When should I consider getting a second CC and are there any other tips on how I can increase my score other than keeping my UTL <9% in the meantime? Thanks!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
creditnocash
Valued Contributor

Re: First Post!!

Welcome and Congrats!. 

so im guessing thats a unsecured card? 

any card is a good card for rebuilding or building for that matter. 

if you got denied for unsufficent history use the cap one. and get another secured card. use it and garden for a year or 2 and then walla. as long as you have no baddies show up your scores and credit history should reflect nicely. 

Current: Fico ScoresEQ~706 TU~719 EX 709 4/28/23

Inquiries (24 Months): EQ 0 TU 0 EX 0| Most Recent: A LONG WHILE
Over 12 Months:0

2023 Goals:
Buy A Home
Earn Cash Back

Amex Zync(Unicorn)
Chase Freedom$1500
Discover IT$7,400
Citi DC $10,000
Citizens Mastercard$7,000

Message 2 of 8
Jlu
Established Contributor

Happy first post.

AMEX BCP $35k | Citi Double Cash $30k | PenFed PlatRewards $25k | Barclaycard $40k | Chase Freedom $25k | BofA Cash Rewards $40K | US Bank Cash+ $4500 | Discover IT $25k | NASA Platinum-Advantage $40k | CapOne Quicksilver $15k | Amazon Card $10k | Ten years on myFICO from 510 to 780 scores
Message 3 of 8
shakalaka
Established Contributor

Welcome.