cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help needed for BCP / AMEX app(UPDATE WITH RESULTS )

tag
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor

Help needed for BCP / AMEX app(UPDATE WITH RESULTS )

Hi guys, I just started building my credit, just got approved for Chase Freedom $600 and Discover It $500 dollars with thin files just before Thanksgiving. My goal for 2014 is to join the AMEX club, is it possible to achieve that?

Currently I am a engineering grad student and will graduate May 2014.

After lurking around a few weeks, I know the AMEX is not in favour of students,

but I really want to join the AMEX club next year, May I have some advice about that? 

I also need to improve my single card CL to 2000 dollars at least,  and I do shop a lot of groceries around 400-500 dollars per month just for myself. So my wish card would be a BCP, if BCP will be hard to get for me, any other alternatives?

Thanks guys!

Smiley Happy

UPDATE: ON Dec 20, 2013, just after my Chase freedom with 1 dollar balance reported to EX, DIscover still not reported as new TL to EX, I applied for AMEX GREEN and BCP,

both instantly approved and BCP with 2000 CL(AND REALLY ONLY 1 HP FOR 2 cards! Thank you guys!), only 25 days since I got my first two credit cards here in US~ now I am with the AMEX! THANK YOU SO MUCH GUYS! 

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
enharu
Super Contributor

Re: Advice needed for Fast CLI or BCP

You could try applying for a charge card now, and then try your luck again for the BCP in the coming year. Once you are an Amex member, its sp if declined, hp if approved for future Amex apps. Your member since date will also reflect 2013 for future cards. Most importantly, it's also a good way to get your foot into the door.