Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many cards is too many

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How many cards is too many

Hello!

I am in my early 20's and relatively new to credit cards. My credit score is in the 730s. I have about nine student loan accounts that are 6+ years old now (from when I was a freshman in college to now) and all my payments have been on time. I got my first credit card last March, which was the Quicksilver One (now 2700 CL). Since then, I have also gotten the Chase Freedom (2500 CL) and CSP (5000 CL). I am also interested in applying for an Amex, specifically the PRG or BCP.

I know four cards is a lot for one year, but I make on-time payments and I am responsible with maintaining low balances (I keep my utilization below 20% at all times). I am still in my into APR period for all cards except the CSP, so I haven't had to worry about carrying over balances yet.

Is it a bad decision to apply for an Amex right now? I prequalify for both and don't think that I would be denied. My salary is approx 50,000/year.

18 REPLIES 18
austinguy907
Valued Contributor

Re: How many cards is too many

4 CC's in a year around here is child's play!

Now, if you're planning on these being your last 2 for a couple of years while they age and grow you should be fine.  Since you're looking at a CHARGE and a REVOLVER you can usually get both of them for a single HP.  I would go for whichever you want more first and then pull the trigger on the other.

You might want to consider picking up Discover as well while you're at it since you can get double rewards for the first year and shopping through the Disco Deals portal can net you 5-10% more in rewards in addition to the normal rewards and they get doubled as well.

Message 2 of 19
morgacj2004
Valued Contributor