Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large Purchase?

tag
jboy1972
New Contributor

Large Purchase?

Just wanted to ask a question regarding large purchases. I plan on purchasing a imac from apple using my TY Prefered. My CL is 3500,  I will be using a good chunk of that CL(2000).  I dont get paid till the 31st and my daughter needs this like right now...lol 

So that said, my question is, since I only use this card for misc ie, plate lunch, ($20) drugstore misc stuff...max ($50). Would that raise a red flag to deny me at the register? since my spending patterns went bye bye with this purchase, does it raise a fraud alert? 

Im kinda new to this paying with CC thing so any advice? I just dont want to be made a fool in front of my daughter because i got denied at the register... I have my pride..lol

Can I call Citi and give them a FYI on up coming purchases?

Thanks in advance

NFCU Flag Visa Sig $11k *| AMEX BCE $20k*| Discover It $8k*| Citi TY Preferred $5k *| Chase Freedom Visa $2k *|
| Lowe's $10k *| Bank of Hawaii Rewards Platinum Visa $7.8k *| Hawaii USA FCU Platinum Visa 3k *| Firestone 2.2k *|

FICO EQ- 747 (7/07/13) FICO EX -752 (8/07/13) FICO TU -751 (8/07/13)
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
SwiftTone
Valued Contributor

Re: Large Purchase?

I would not worry about it at all. The first purchase I made on my CSP after approval was $3000+ international plane ticket. Made my bonus spending requirement real easy. On my AMEX I've always only used it to purchase gas and groceries then one day I decided to buy a $700 motorcycle helmet. No problems either. My Chase Priority Club first purchase was $900+ motorcycle parts. And my first purchase on my NFL Barclays was $1300 tuition.

Never have I ever had a transaction being declined. It's not even on my mind.

So just use it and don't worry about it!