cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to get First Credit Card, Help?

tag
ajcarter

Looking to get First Credit Card, Help?

I am currently a college student (19 y/o) looking to start managing my finances and in that process, would need to start building credit. Therefore, I went ahead and applied for two cards on the same day, around the same time - which was my first mistake. I applied for Discover It for Students, and Capital One Journey for students.

Naturally, I was rejected. Capital One's reasoning was: "Based on report from [credit bureau] for [name], credit bureau information is missing or unavailable"

Discover's reasoning was: "No Savings account"

I have went ahead and rectified both by getting a savings account, and calling/mailing information to all three credit bureaus (since, apparently no one knew I existed).

All of this was done in August 2013.

What do I do now? I was told wait 6 months, then I was told you don't have to wait. I need some guidance.

I don't really want a store card, but if thats my best bet- I'll do it. I really like the Discover It for Students.

All responses are greatly appreciated! Thanks in advanced!

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18

Re: Looking to get First Credit Card, Help?

I would try getting a secured card from one of the banks, maybe BOA and after six months to a year , they usually upgraded you to a normal credit card. You can also try to get store cards like the walmart ones

Message 2 of 19
user5387
Valued Contributor

The SDFCU secured Visa might be a good deal.  Lots of information on it available here.

Message 3 of 19
baller4life
Super Contributor

@zacknistelrooy wrote:

I would try getting a secured card from one of the banks, maybe BOA and after six months to a year , they usally upgraded you to a normal credit card. You can also try to get store cards like the walmart ones

+1

Message 4 of 19
red259
Super Contributor