Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Minimum Payment

tag
YoungJay18
Contributor

Minimum Payment

every time i pay my credit card i see that it asks me if i want to pay Minimum Payment since im new to credit cards i never really bothered to learn what it is if i do pay the Minimum Payment for what ever reason is it bad for your credit score or anything like that

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
scientifics
Frequent Contributor

Re: Minimum Payment

If you pay the minimum payment you will pay interest on your purchaes starting from the beginning of that billing cycle until you've gone through a whole cycle after you've paid you account in full.

Message 2 of 24
YoungJay18
Contributor

so for example lets say my balance is $600 i wil have to pay the $600 plus the lets say $40 intrest ?? 

and basically it is very bad for my credit

Message 3 of 24
bettercreditguy1
Established Contributor

And hard on your wallet!

Updated scores 3/7/21 TU 849, EQ 829, Ex 818 (all Fico scores) Remember the Three P's: Pay early in Full, Pay on Time, Patience
Message 4 of 24
adavis425
Established Contributor

@YoungJay18 wrote:

so for example lets say my balance is $600 i wil have to pay the $600 plus the lets say $40 intrest ?? 

and basically it is very bad for my credit

I don't believe that paying the minmum is necessarily bad for your credit. Not paying at all or not paying on time is bad for your credit. Some people pay only the minimum every month with no issues while others (myself included) PIF each month. Paying the minimum simply means you pay more and, let's face it, who wants to do that? There are times however when you can only pay the minimum and it is nice to have that flexibility. As long you pay AT LEAST the minimum, you and your credit will be fine.

AmEx Platinum | AmEx BCP | AmEx Delta Gold | CSP | Chase Freedom | NFCU cashRewards Visa Sig | NFCU Plat MC | WM MC | Discover it | JCP

Message 5 of 24
youngandcreditwrthy
Senior Contributor