cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PenFed Balance Transfers: How long Will It Take?

tag
Borealis
Regular Contributor

PenFed Balance Transfers: How long Will It Take?

I am new to both PenFed and Balance Transfers. I just got my new Gold card in the mail and decided to try out a modest but not insignificant BT from Disco. The email I received about my "request" said it could take up to 30 days. Is this accurate, does it really take that long?

March 2021- FICO8: EXP 549 / TU 571
November 2023 - FICO8: EXP 794 / TU 795 / EQ 836

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
gingerflower
Senior Contributor

Re: PenFed Balance Transfers: How long Will It Take?

@Borealis 

I recently did a balance transfer with Penfed and although it does say it could take 30 days...My transfer was done in 5 days..

Message 2 of 15
Borealis
Regular Contributor

@gingerflower Thank you so much!

March 2021- FICO8: EXP 549 / TU 571
November 2023 - FICO8: EXP 794 / TU 795 / EQ 836

Message 3 of 15
AMJ50
Contributor

Mine took a couple of weeks

Message 4 of 15
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Mine took I believe about 7 business days.

Last App: 1/10/2023
Penfed Gold Visa Card

Currently rebuilding as of 04/11/2019.

Starting FICO 8 Scores:

Current FICO 8 scores:

Message 5 of 15
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

For BTs it depends on the lender. Usually it's an ACH transfer so it takes less than a week, but if someone still sends a paper check, it can take longer. 

Message 6 of 15
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

@Borealis wrote:

I am new to both PenFed and Balance Transfers. I just got my new Gold card in the mail and decided to try out a modest but not insignificant BT from Disco. The email I received about my "request" said it could take up to 30 days. Is this accurate, does it really take that long?

No, PenFed is pretty fast. With Discover on the other end, I predict it will be a week or even less.