Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sears store card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sears store card?

Hello all,  i'm a newbie here... Happy new year!!

curiosity: Since Sears is in dire straits, will they be more inclined to approve me for their store or master card? I figure they need all the costumers they can get at this point, or is it a wrong assumption on my part. Perhaps they have loosen the rules a bit to get more business moving. I'm afraid to use my HPs just to get denied.

I just started my arduous road of credit rebuilding, currently my score has “insufficient history” so no score. I’m approved for cap1 secured $49/$200 card on the mail. No collections, no negs, on my report all fell off.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Sears store card?

I would get a few more secured CCs and a secured loan to start building your credit history.

Message 2 of 10
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

Sears maybe in trouble but Citibank who backs the card is not. I wouldnt waste a hp especially if your credit is just begining or rebuilding. And the mc is still harder to get than the store version.
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

You've gotta start with secured cards that have will benefit you in the long term.

My recommendation for the OP is to not to apply for a unsecured card right now. Instead focus on a secured card and let that grow for you. Take a couple hundred to a bank or CU say NFCU /DCU etc and open a basic savings + a secured CC. I'd also go to Cap1 and take the ding for their SC because its honestly worth it seeing that you deposit anywhere between $49 - $100 and get a $200 CL. https://www.capitalone.com/credit-cards/secured-mastercard/    .And I would also look into self lender perhaps for a builder as well -   https://www.selflender.com/landing?lname=build