Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strategy for getting to CSR from no history

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Strategy for getting to CSR from no history

Hi everyone,

I am new to the US. I am here on a J1 visa for two years, and I am not a citizen. I had no US credit history prior to arriving, and just got started with a BofA secured CC at a $500 CL, opened up late Nov 2018. So I guess that is the start of my credit history. I also have gotten my SSN, and I have connected that to the BofA account.

I read up on CC do's and dont's before I signed up for the card, and have been following advise and strategies from YouTube and forums from the day I got the card, in order to maximise my potential credit score, for when I can get that. I haven't drawn above 30% utilisation at any point, I pay off any balances above 10% utilisation immediately, and have, and aim to have, between 2-6% CL utilisation on my monthly statements. And, of course, I pay my statement balance off, in full. I dont't have neither Vanguard nor FICO score yet.

My goal is getting two cards: first the CF, and afterwards the CSR, if that is possible for me within my two years in the US. I have no debt and no loans. I have an annual gross income of $60.000. And I am aware of the 5/24.

My question is: when (if possible), could I reasonably apply for the CF, and for the CSR, and which actions (getting other cards, credit card behavior and so) should I take to get to the Chase cards fast. Note: I am not in need of credit, but I am interested in the travel perks of the CSR and a card with a CL of at least $5000 (for buying flights).

Thank you, I appreciate any comments, and I apologise if my situation has already been addressed in another post.

16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Strategy for getting to CSR from no history

You refer to a "Vanguard" score in your post.  You probably mean Vantage.  Vanguard is a place to invest your money -- they have nothing to do with credit scores.