Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ULTRA VX !!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

ULTRA VX !!!

The ultra VX credit card is definitely not what they say it is. I have had this card for atleast a year. I have been renting cars since August of 2008-March of 2009 then one day when I went to rent a car the rental car agency (Alamo) told me that they do not accept pre-paid cards. I informed them that this was not a pre-paid card but a secured credit card account and they in turn told me that it was coming up in their system as "pre-paid." So I went to a few other rental car agencies like Avis, Enterprise, Budget and they all said the same thing. Now if this is a pre-paid card I can get one of those for free without paying the annual fees and what not. Is anyone else having this problem?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: ULTRA VX !!!

Did the card report too the credit agency? Any other complaints? how does it work in laymans terms? does report a high balance? do you get your security deposit back if you cancel the card? 
Message 2 of 7
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

yes I believe the credit card sites that offer this card classify it as Pre-Paid
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Even though it's online site says it reports to CRBs this card really is a preloaded card. Kind of looks like a hybrid...cross between secured card and preloaded.
Message 4 of 7
charmcity
New Contributor

Kind of off-topic, but has anyone else had trouble renting cars with a secured credit card?

Message 5 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

I had the same issue. I have used the card at least a dozen times to rent cars. It was great while it lasted. I would only load what I needed for the rental plus the 15% extra. Would always rent in Florida and Georgia. When I tried to rent from Alamo and National in April 09, it was not accepted anymore. I was stuck at the airport some 60 miles from my destination at 10 pm. I was disgusted.

Message 6 of 7