Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized User

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Authorized User

Ive been working on my credit for about 5 months... its going great but whats holding me back is my credit age... if you have NOONE at all in family with good credit... how do I increase my credit age? This is really stressing me out... i want to buy a home at the turn of the year... TY
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Authorized User

@Anonymous wrote:
Ive been working on my credit for about 5 months... its going great but whats holding me back is my credit age... if you have NOONE at all in family with good credit... how do I increase my credit age? This is really stressing me out... i want to buy a home at the turn of the year... TY

Once you have a credit card or loan in your name, the age of your credit increases monthly. Also, if you apply for new credit, the age decreases.

Being added as an AU will not help when you apply for a mortgage. Lenders need to see credit in your name so they can determine how you handle your credit responsibilities. The reason being an AU in this instance doesn't help is because the AU is not responsible for the debt.

|| AmX Cash Magnet $40.5K || NFCU CashRewards $30K || Discover IT $24.7K || Macys $24.2K || NFCU CLOC $15K || NFCU Platinum $15K || CitiCostco $12.7K || Chase FU $12.7K || Apple Card $7K || BOA CashRewards $6K
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

So basically, I will have to wait 1 year to have enough credit age in order to apply for mortgage?
Message 3 of 8
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
So basically, I will have to wait 1 year to have enough credit age in order to apply for mortgage?

Sometimes some lenders may accept other things like history of rent, utility payments, cell/phone payments, etc.

To give us a better picture of where you're at, can you provide us with some more datapoints: