Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building Credit while in Medical School

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Building Credit while in Medical School

I am a first year medical student and I wanted to get some advice on building credit while in training. I approximately have 8-10 years before I will be earning a full doctor's salary (I'm 24 now; 4 years of medical school-taking out $26,000 in federal loans per year; then 3-7 years of residency/fellowship where my income will be $50-60k). My goal is that when I do finally become a physician, my credit will be asset and I can start living/enjoying my hard work.

Currently, my credit scores are 743 TU/744 EQ. I have two credit cards AMEX Every Day (CL 14,200) and Capital Venture One (CL 8,000). Right now, my utilization is 10%, but I always pay off the cards before 0% APR is over. I have 9 accounts (7 student loans, 2 CC) and average age of history is 2 years and 10 months. Oldest account is 6 years.

What should I be doing while in school and then in residency to have a high credit score down the line? Is applying for a new credit card yearly to take advantage of introductory 0% APR too often? The biggest struggle I have is length of credit history. Does it make sense for me to have more accounts now, so that my length of credit history will long in 10 years?

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Building Credit while in Medical School

You give your credit scores as coming from TU and EQ.  My guess therefore is that you are getting them from Credit Karma.  I am a big fan of Karma -- it's a great tool for pulling your reports.  But its scores are Vantage Scores, rather than FICO 8.  Nothing wrong with tracking your V-scores, but you should perodically pull your FICO 8 scores too.  We can suggest some extremely cheap ways of doing that (a few dollars per year).