cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CR Confusion!

K7Kate
Established Member

CR Confusion!

I wish I had a better understanding of laws, right and general information of how credit reports work.  I've been working for a few years now on cleaning up my credit.  As an example, my TU credit score did improve 81 points in 1 year.  I don't know if that's good or not but I was proud.  I have 4 account (credit card accts) in collections showing on my CR that the "date opened" was as recently as 2008.  They're showing I'm 120+ days past due.  To me (again, I don't understand this!), it appears that I opened accounts and quite quickly defaulted on them.  How do CA's have to report this stuff?  I was in a "debt relief" program for a couple of years, starting in 2005, and one of the rules was I could not take out any new credit, such as credit cards - which I didn't.  In 2008 I finally got a good credit card which I give credit to really giving my score the boost in the right direction.  So I know that from 2005 and 2008 I had no new credit cards.  What are these collection agencies doing?  Can they report that the "date opened" on the accounts of mine are as recent as they claim?  They're not.  I hope I'm making sense, I know what I'm trying to say.  I have a couple of charge/offs which have 0 balances, and accurately show how old the accounts actually are. 

I realize its going to take time for my credit to be repaired but I wish it would reflect more that in the past 5 years I have been a responsible borrower and have no been late on anything since then.  I know I'm not a star student but I think my recent borrowing habits should be just as obvious as a rough time in my life 8 years before. 

Again, I guess I'm asking, can an account in collections, that hasn't had any activity since 2005 be reported as being opened in 2007?  Ugh!  I'm so confused.

Thanks!  Sorry to ramble!

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
guiness56
Epic Contributor