Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit advice

tag
Lion556
New Visitor

Credit advice

Hi ! I'm very new to the forum but have been reading it for awhile I'm looking for advice I'm Trying to improve my credit and my credit limits I have 4 collections and the cards I have are , quicksilver 1 - 1000sl

discover it -2000 ( authorized user ) shell federal -500 co owned , Walmart card 300 sl I can't get approved for much and I'm really new to credit in general what should I do ?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

Re: Credit advice

@Lion556 wrote:

Hi ! I'm very new to the forum but have been reading it for awhile I'm looking for advice I'm Trying to improve my credit and my credit limits I have 4 collections and the cards I have are , quicksilver 1 - 1000sl

discover it -2000 ( authorized user ) shell federal -500 co owned , Walmart card 300 sl I can't get approved for much and I'm really new to credit in general what should I do ?

1. Welcome to the forum.

2. Try to let 2 or 3 of your 4 cards report a zero balance each month.

3  Let the other 1 or 2 report small balances, 28% or less of the limit, each month.

4. Every once in a while hit the "credit limit increase" button on Discover.

5. Try to get the collections removed one way or the other. Best is to negotiate "pay for delete".

Not sure what you mean by co owned account, but that may or may not be something that's helping you. I would need to know more about it.

Total revolving limits 741200 (620700 reporting) FICO 8: EQ 703 TU 704 EX 687

Message 2 of 8
Lion556
New Visitor

Thank you so much for your reply ! The co owned card is a card my dad co signed with me so it shows up as joint card I will definitely follow the tips you gave me much appreciated 

Message 3 of 8
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

@Lion556 

Who are the CA's? They might be ones that pay for delete (PFD). Once they're gone. Easier to get better cards.

Message 4 of 8
Lion556