Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Did I mess up?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Did I mess up?

Ok, I admit that I was uninformed when this happened, but here's my story:

In 2001 I went through a divorce from a cheating wife. I was lucky to be able to get a finalized divorce in just 2 months, but she had a previous bankruptcy (so everything was pretty much in my name) and when she left she refused to pay her share of anything.  I was forced into bankruptcy and I have been working on cleaning on my credit for 6 years as of this summer.  I had never pulled my FICO scores until I bought the Suze Orman FICO kit last week.  I have only pulled my Transunion score so far, and it is a 700.  Just recently got an Orchard Bank Mastercard with a $1500 credit limit and 14.90% rate.  Have some balances that I am paying down very rapidly so I hope to get my score higher.

Anyway, awhile back I was looking at my card statements and saw that my Circuit City (very high rate store card) and my Walmart (another very high store card) had pretty high credit limits.  Circuit City was $2000 and I think Walmart was as well. It made me nervous, so I called each company and had them lower my credit limits.  Did I screw up by doing that?  Am I better off having the credit available or making sure that it is at a managable level?