Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover IT...need cli advice...

tag
Physh1
Frequent Contributor

Discover IT...need cli advice...

Wednesday I will have had this card for 1 year. Started at $500...cli to $1000 in 3 months...$500 cli each month for the next 3. I've been sitting at $2500 for 6 months and Discover won't budge.

I've used the card heavily or used it rarely but always pif or keep reported util from 0%-15%. I have primariliy used the card for the quarterly categories.

My Fico scores are 770-780 via CCT and my TransUnion Fico through Discover is 781 as of 7/6/17. Major cards are Amex EDP @ 24k, PenFed Promise @22.4k, BofA Alaska @ 28k, BofA Cash @15k, Amex SPG @ 10k, Chase Amazon @6.5k.

My overall util right now is 5%, total available credit is $200k

What am I missing with Discover? I don't plan on closing the card but would really like a higher limit....any suggestions?

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Discover IT...need cli advice...

Message 2 of 26
Anonymous
Not applicable

Welcome to the forums!

If I am reading your post right, Discover has mutliplied your original credit limit by a factor of five in the last year, via multiple CLIs (all without a hard pull).  That's actually an example of a CC issuer being really responsive to a consumer's CLI desires.  Some issuers do far less than that (maybe once a year say).

I am a bit curious about why you want a much bigger CL on this particular card in the next six months.  You already have many cards with big limits and your utilization is low.  The quarterly category right now is restaurants.  Do you think you'll been spending thousands of dollars on restaurants each month?  The answer may be yes... just curious.

Again, glad you are here and wish you all the best.

Message 3 of 26
Physh1
Frequent Contributor