cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PFD or GW

tag
rbee4

PFD or GW

I am just beginning my journey to clean up my credit.  I have recently pulled my credit and I have a new collection account that went on my credit report.  I think that this would be the best place to begin my efforts.  Unfortunately, it was pretty much my own fault.  I had paid for a subscription for an internet web service that I ended up never using.  After the year was up, they automatically renewed my account, and I waited too long to cancel and I never paid them for the renewal.  I got a letter saying that they were going to send it to collections, so I finally got on the ball and called to cancel and pay off the cancelation fee, but they wouldn't accept my payment because it was sold to a CA.  When I called to get information from the CA, they tried to charge me twice as much as what I owed to settle the debt.  I refused to pay it over the phone and asked that they send me a letter.  In the mean time, the debt showed up on my credit report.  My question is, do I write them a PFD letter saying that it isn't my debt, but I'm willing to compromise and pay in full, and if they do not accept the terms that I would validate the debt (similar to the example), or should I write a GW letter and ask them to delete if I pay in full and own up to it being my debt.  I think if they validate the debt it will come back as a valid debt. 

Thanks for in advance for your responses.
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
sl
Established Contributor

Re: PFD or GW

I would start by writing/sending a DV letter.  Make them verify the debt to you.

Once you get that, do a PFD letter.  Do not pay until until you get it in writting that they will delete it from your CR.

Good luck.  Keep us posted.

Sadie
Message 2 of 4
rbee4