Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting out SC questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting out SC questions

I am getting a secured card with a SL of 300 . Should I keep a balance revolving every month ,or should I pay in full. I intend on only utilizing about 60 or so, every month. What recommendations does anyone have as I am new to this CC game . I would like use the best practice for building as much positive every month. The interest is at 11 % from my local CU. I am an AU on a discover card with 700 CL and 430 balance also. Not sure if I should gain some history and ditch the AU or keep on it and lower the revolving balance. ( Discover has 10 years of perfect payment history too ).
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting out SC questions

Do you have any needs for credit in the next year or two?  E.g. a car loan or a home loan?  If so, when?

With respect to the secured card in your name, make a small purchase each month, let it report on the next statement, and then pay that amount in full a few days after the statement prints.  Then do it again.  The amount that reports should be under 8.99% of the credit limit.  So in your case less than $27.

In the case of the AU card, would the owner of the account be willing to keep the reported balance much lower?  That would help his score and yours.  We can explain how he could spend a lot on the Discover card while keeping his reported balance very low (or even zero).

Do you have any lates, collections, charegeoffs, any other derogs like that?

Have you pulled your three FICO 8 scores?  You can do that for a buck at Credit Check Total.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Been pretty steady and there are several more posts from me on here. I have included all the details but I will repost for you .
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Current stats are :