Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding Promotional Financing

tag
mzladyk
Established Member

Understanding Promotional Financing

I've never done promotional financing before because I never had a reason to. I opened up an Amazon card to purchase some big items for Christmas this year (approx $500). I received the 6 months promotional financing. I know I have to pay it off within 6 months to avoid the accrued interest. I figured as long as they get the $500 in payments by June 22nd (the date promotion expires), I should be okay. 

However, now I'm getting confused because since Christmas, I've used the card a couple of times. I paid off about $400 of the balance, but added on approx. another $200+. When I check my statement, it says one item is paid off, partial balance of the other items 3 items. I'm wondering how does the payment work towards the promotional items? Please let me know in layman's terms because it's still early and I haven't had enough coffee.

Basically, I've only done 2 payments since Christmas and have another due on the 13th of THIS month, March. 1st payment was $85 because I figured 85 * 6 = $500. But since 1st payment, I bought more things. So 2nd payment was ~$380. But I still owe on promotional items - $205. 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Jamex
Frequent Contributor

Re: Understanding Promotional Financing

Promotional financing is generally designed to maximize the likelihood that you will eventually pay interest - baseically think of it as a sweetener to get you to buy more than you normally would, with the hope that most consumers aren't savvy enough to avoid the interest.