Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to start...

tag
jru577
New Contributor

Where to start...

Hi, I'm new to myFico. My scores are as follows: TU- 580, EQ 617, and Exp 633. I have all kinds of accounts (well, except a mortgage - which I would like to have eventually.) I really need some help, as I don't know where to start! I have a number of issues - late payments is my number one problem, but I've been on time for the last 5-6 months on everything. I have one charge-off of $5 that was on my Dad's discover card. (We thought we paid it off after he died, but I guess there was a little extra interest we missed and I was an authorized user.) I'm also paying down 2 (was 3) credit cards totalling 7K that were closed by the CCC....is that status hurting me? Is it better to pay off with a small coming winfall, or should I just continue to pay sortof slowly. (although, paying as much as I can afford every month) Student loans...what a mess...they show up in a million different ways, but I have consolidated them down to two loans for $14K each, with one late payment on each at the end of last year. It's so confusing...I have student loans from Sallie Mae from 1999 that were consolidated to the previous mentioned loans, but on one of the reports they show as "too new to rate". On another report, one of them shows "unrated or bankruptcy", but again...that was consolidated. should i dispute? Any suggestions? WHat exactly is a Goodwill letter? What does it do? Why is there such a HUGE disparity between reports? I'm living with my mom right now (to save money and partially because she doesn't want to be alone), but would like to move out in the next 5-6 months. I want to get my scores as high as possible in the next few months, but will need to apply for a small loan ($1-2k)to cover some medical expenses not covered by my insurance. ANy help or advice is GREATLY appreciated. I'm really trying to learn, but it's so confusing! Thanks for your help! Kin