Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PNC regular checking vs virtual wallet

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PNC regular checking vs virtual wallet

I was trying to sign up for a regular checking account but the banker kept pushing me to get the virtual wallet checking instead so much that I just walked out.

is there some great benefit I am missing to the virtual wallet?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
MrCreditInternational
Frequent Contributor

Re: PNC regular checking vs virtual wallet

I'm a college student so I have virtual wallet.

As far as I know you open 3 accounts: Spend, Reserve, and Growth (https://www.pnc.com/en/personal-banking/virtual-wallet-overview.html#)

Spend is your daily checking account, Growth is your regular savings account, and Reserve (not sure if savings or checking) is an account that should be in between that earns more than Spend but less than Growth. I think it's their way to help people budget and save money.

I only use Spend and have never used Reserve or Growth since I got my account 3 years ago

Schwab Amex Platinum (NPSL); Amex Gold (NPSL); HH Aspire (31,700); Amex BBP (27,000); HSBC Premier WMC (18,000); USB Altitude Reserve (10,000); Chase Sapphire Preferred (5,800), Delta Platinum (5,000); Apple Card (4,750); USB Altitude Go (1,000)

Started collecting cards: Oct/2018
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

I actually held off from opening a PNC account because of the nonsense of the 3 account virtual wallet. Then about 6 months later I opened a Simple Bank account and found out after I opened it that they use a similar system, but with two accounts. It's annoying. Its just a marketing gimmick. 

Message 3 of 11
MrCreditInternational
Frequent Contributor

I completely agree that it's unnecessary

That's why I only use the checking account and never use the other two

Free is free tho