Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about PenFed

tag
Winesnoblv
Regular Contributor

Question about PenFed

I was in the market for a personal loan since I will need extra cash soon and saw the low rates for PenFed.  I realize they are somewhat of a hit or miss based on posts here, but I wanted to join a credit union.  Since I have no experience with Credit Unions, I am not sure if what is happening is common or there is a problem.  Last Friday, I did the soft pull preapproval requesting $10k for 3 years.  It came back with a preapproval of $20k.  Since I only needed $10k, I accepted their terms (which at 10.99% I thought was a bit high, but better than the lowest rate Citi offers on my PLOC).  I then uploaded my tax returns (I am self employed) for 2 years along with my ID and SS.  I called several times early in this week on the status and was told 24-48 hours.  Then on Wednesday, I was told that I needed to upload my 2019 tax return (which I had done on the day I applied).  Once again saying 24-48 hours.  Nothing since.

My concern is that they need additional information that the csr's do not know what it may be and it is holding up the approval.  I was going to call and ask to speak to a manager in an attempt to find out if this is the case.  Any thoughts from the PenFed experts out there.  Is this normal for a new member?

Thank you.  

FICO 8 EX 784 TU 786 EQ 786
FICO 9 EX 780
AMEX - Platinum, BCP, Delta Platinum, Simply Cash Plus, Blue Business Cash (Business)
Barclay - Arrival Plus, AAdvantage Aviator
Capital One - Venture, Sparks (Business)
Chase - FU, CSP
Citi - Premier, PLOC
Discover It Miles
TD Cash Visa
US Bank Altitude Reserve
Wells Fargo Propel AMEX
PNC Points Visa
FNBO Evergreen Visa
Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Mr_Mojo_Risin
Senior Contributor

Re: Question about PenFed

Im not a PenFed expert but all of the verification docs aren't that odd, especially for a new member.