cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying for mortgage with collection on my credit report -- should I pay the account?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Applying for mortgage with collection on my credit report -- should I pay the account?

hi everyone -- this is my first time posting to this forum. I've poked around a bit but can't seem to find a consensus on the question at hand -- whether I should pay a collection agency for a medical debt incurred in 2009 in order to (hopefully) raise my credit score. Here's the details:

-- Medical bill of $1,500 incurred in June of 2009 and handed to collection agency in June 2013.

-- This is the only derogatory line item on my credit report

-- My credit score ranges from 705 with Equifax to 712 with Experian

-- My instinct tells me I should contact the CA and offer to pay the full amount. In return, I would ask that they either remove the item from my credit report, or mark it as paid in full

I am getting conflicting advice about the impact of paying this in full. My loan offer said I should NOT pay it, because if I do, the date attached to it on my credit report will be bumped up from June 2013 (slightly old) to September 2015 (very new and will lower my credit score).

i spoke with a credit counselor today, and she said if I pay it in full, it will at the very least be marked as "Paid in Full" which reflects better than the outstanding amount. Plus, it would reduce my debt-to-debt limit ratio, which could then bump up my score a bit.

im mainly concerned about my score right now because I want to qualify for a mortgage and get a good interest rate, and I know that ideally if my score were in the 740-750 range I'd probably qualify for a better rate than I do right now. 

Im confused! Do you all have a recommendation as to pay or leave unpaid?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor