Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection on twice?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collection on twice?

I'm pretty new to all this but my husband has an old tmobile account from 2006 on his credit.

For transunion it is as an open negative account and it is on there twice under 2 different collection agencies...credmgmtcntl and enhancrcvrco

it is on experian and equifax as a collection and through enhancrcvrco

What should I do about this ?

Are they allowed to have it listed twice like they do on transunion?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: Collection on twice?

if the 1st one sold it to the 2nd one, then yes, i believe it's ok.

Message 2 of 10
LIGHTNIN
Senior Contributor

Yes both can report, as long as the 1st CA changes the balance to $0 when they sold the debt to the 2nd CA.

If paid, send GW letters to both CA's asking nicely to delete.

If unpaid, IMO, I wouldnt contact the 1st CA,because you never know, if they have a connection with the 2nd CA. 

FICO's May 2015 EQ764 ~~Live below your means and always keep an emergency fund -Love Everybody ~ Big Kenny ~ Big and Rich ~~~~~Credit Scoring 101 - Common Abbreviations - Freq Req Threads - Free Credit Reports - What Steps Do I Take?DV? PFD?
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

The balance didn't change to 0 on the first CA it is still 385 ....same as the second CA.

Also now date opened is different as well. It's saying date opened 8/08 So now do we have to wait 7 years from 08? or still 06

Message 4 of 10
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Ignore any "open date" reporting by CAs. The date used to determine when something drops is the DOFD. Date opened is the day they took over the debt.

I'd dispute both and let the CRA determine which one should be reporting. One is reporting inaccurately and shouldn't be there.

Message 5 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable